DIY TV Stand

With Christmas here it is the time for giving gifts and the time for receiving gifts. It is also the time to buy your self a present!! My present to myself this year was a new TV. Of course with a new TV I also needed a new TV Stand. The one that I was using was too small to support the larger size of my new TV. I spent several weeks looking or a new TV Stand, but I just couldn’t find something that I liked. I also had an old coffee table that I was thinking of donating.

With Pinterest posts as my inspiration I decided to deconstruct my coffee table and make my own TV Stand.

Supplies:

1. coffee table

2. furniture legs (home depot)

3. leg fasteners

4. wood stain

5. sander and sand paper

6. mosaic candle holders (2)

Step 1:

Sand coffee table top to a nice clean and smooth surface. I did this before I deconstructed the coffee table.

Step 2:

Deconstruct the coffee table and attach the leg brackets (to the underside of the table top) and then the furniture legs.

Table legs from Home Depot

Bracket and Leg – Both from Home Depot

Step 4:

Paint or stain the table table legs. I choose to paint the legs with a basic Behr paint from Home Depot. I also painted the legs while the table was upside down on the floor with the legs attached to the table. I left the legs loose so that I could twist them as I painted them. I made sure to tighten them back up once I was done painting each leg.

Painting the LegsPaint complete on the legs

Step 5:

Once the paint on the legs are dry, flip the table up-right and paint/stain the top of the table. I choose to put a coat of clear oil-based polyurethane on the top of my table. Once the 1st coat was complete I waited about 10 hours and put a 2nd coat on the table. I also put one coat of the polyurethane over the paint on the legs. This was just to protect the paint.

Top of the table after 2 coats of Poly

Step 6:

Once the Poly has dried your table is pretty much done. For mine though, once my table was complete I realized that it was too wide to go on my wall and look proportionate. So I deconstructed it once more  and cute about 4 inches off the table top. I then put the brackets back on with the legs. I then used the 4 inch piece of the table and 2 old mosaic candle holders to make a primitive shelf to set my TV on.

Here is the final project. Let me know what you think!!

Mosaic Candle holder as a shelf

Finished!!

Leave a Reply

